How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about doPDF.
Srikanth
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:23 am

How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

Postby Srikanth » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:30 am

Hi ,

i am basically trying to find if dopdf is installed in the system if its not then i am prompting the user to doenload the dopdf.

Is there a way i can detect if dopdf is installed in the system via javascript.Its possible to do it for flash player using activex object.is something similar can be done for dopdf too?

Any suggestion will be really helpful

Regards,
Srikanth

AngusSF-LC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:53 pm

Re: How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

Postby AngusSF-LC » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:58 pm

Look for this registry key?

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\doPDF 7 printer_is1]

Srikanth
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:23 am

Re: How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

Postby Srikanth » Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:32 pm

Can the printers be accessed via javascript?

Srikanth
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:23 am

Re: How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

Postby Srikanth » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:49 am

Hi ,

I tried it but i got following error,

Unable to open registry key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\doPDF 7 printer_is1" for reading.

below is the code,

var shell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");

var regValue = shell.RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\CurrentVersion\\Uninstall\\doPDF 7 printer_is1");

Softland
Posts: 1443
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 am

Re: How to find if dopdf is installed via javascript

Postby Softland » Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:25 am

You cannot access printer properties from Javascript, thus it's very difficult to develop something that is accurate and works. The easiest approach is to write directly on the page a notice for users to install doPDF if they don't have it already.


Return to “General”