Confirm overwrite twice?

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about doPDF.
SPaternotte
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:49 am

Postby SPaternotte » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:57 pm

Hello DoPDF team,


I've been using DoPDF for a long time now and I am really pleased with it.

There is however one thing that continues to annoy me and I'm sure it's a trivial thing for you to resolve in one of the next revisions.


If I print to an already existing PDF file, which indeed want to overwrite, then I need to confirm TWICE that I really want to overwrite the file.

One confirmation dialog looks like it's coming from the Windows Shell, the other appears to be coming from DoPDF.

Surely it would be possible to suppress/leave out one of the two?


Thanks in advance,

Stephan



Softland
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 am

Postby Softland » Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:53 am

Hi Stephan,

I only get one confirmation for overwriting, the one from doPDF. If I accept it windows doesn't ask anything so I don't really understand what's happening in your case (using Windows XP here, and I have administrator rights).


Anyway, I'll ask the developers if we can add a checkbox under the overwrite confirmation window to Show this next time so that it could be disabled.



SPaternotte
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:49 am

Postby SPaternotte » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:28 am

I've got XP Pro and I am not an Administrator, but I don't think that this plays any role here.


Here's how things are going on my side.



  • I print to doPDF first time

  • the doPDF Save dialog opens

  • I click the Browse button and navigate to the place where want to store my PDF

  • Everything is well

  • ...

  • Then I print to doPDF another time (not necessarily immediately following the first print)

  • the doPDF Save dialog opens

  • I click Browse to navigate to the desired folder

  • I select the file that I want to overwrite and click OK

  • This is where I get my first confirmation dialog (from Windows)

  • After that I receive the Save dialog from doPDF again

  • I click OK to proceed and I get my second confirmation dialog (from doPDF)


Would there be a way to suppress this (2nd) confirmation dialog because I already confirmed the overwrite at the previous (windows Shell) dialog?

(I guess Windows will be able to pass on the message that I just confirmed the overwrite action)


Stephan



Softland
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 am

Postby Softland » Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:29 pm

Hi Stephan,

We will remove the confirmation window when the Browse function is used. This will be updated in a future version.



SPaternotte
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:49 am

Postby SPaternotte » Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:55 am

Fixed in doPDF 6.1.271

Thanks very much.




Return to “General”